Not everyone is cut out to be a hero.
About a week ago I built myself a pretty sweet system, quad core, 4GB of RAM and an 8800 GTS G92. After carefully weighing my options and deciding what operating system I wanted to install (having come from Vista Ultimate 32-bit on a Core2Duo; I know, you're thinking, an upgrade already? More on that later), I picked up an OEM copy of Vista Ultimate 64-bit Edition on Newegg.com. I know what you're thinking here as well: 64-bit? Are you insane? Isn't that incompatible with pretty much everything out there?
Actually, it is in fact compatible with just about everything out there. A long time ago (or around January 2007, otherwise known as the month Vista was released) compatibility was probably a serious issue, but I've come to find that support for 64-bit Vista today is nearly ubiquitous. Logitech has full support for their keyboards, mice, and web cams. Creative Labs has fully functional X-Fi drivers for Vista x64. NVIDIA and ATI both have excellent x64 drivers. Sigmatel audio, Realtek, VIA, Texas Instruments, and even my old ATI Remote Wonder remote control are all supported. There are also several communities dedicated to 64-bit users, such as Start64 and the Vista x64 Forms.
With that in mind, I made the leap. I'm also really glad I did, because let me tell you, there is absolutely nothing in micro-computing that is quite as impressive as the system response you feel when you run a quad-core with 4GB of RAM on, wait for it: Vista!
I was floored. I felt like sharing with everybody, hey, you know how you thought Windows Vista sucks? Well look at this. I wasn't just bragging, I really wish everybody could afford a system like the one I had. It really made using a computer just that much more enjoyable.
So imagine my surprise when I realized that not everyone was particularly happy to hear the news I had to bring. (In fact, I wasn't surprised, I'd been following the "Vista sucks, XP rules" chant since before it was even released to market. So I decided instead of just telling everybody, why don't I make a video about my experience with it?
And I did. So here it is.
Vista Ultimate x64 Proper Test from Ahmed Hassan on Vimeo.